It was a stunning victory for the Congress in the Capital which crushed the BJP by polling 20 per cent votes more than its main opponent with all its candidates winning by thumping margins.

The Congress polled 12,58,318 votes more than BJP in the seven seats with all its candidates except South Delhi winner Ramesh Kumar registering a victory margin of over one lakh.

The party polled 57.16 per cent votes, a dramatic rise of 15 per cent from the November Assembly elections, or 32,85,121 votes out of 57,47,000 votes cast on May 7 when the city went to polls to elect its seven MPs. The BJP accounted for 20,26,803 votes in the seven constituencies, which was around 35.26 per cent, down from the Assembly polls vote share of around 40 per cent.

Union Ministers Kapil Sibal and Ajay Maken, DPCC chief JP Aggarwal, Mahabal Mishra, Krishna Tirath, and Sandeep Dikshit pipped their BJP rivals by over a lakh votes and garnering more than 50 per cent vote share except for its South Delhi candidate Ramesh Kumar. Sandeep Dikshit was the winner of winners as he recorded the highest margin of over 2.41 lakh votes among the new lawmakers from the city. He polled 60 per cent of the total of over 8.57 lakh votes cast in the elections.

If Dikshit got the biggest margin, Ramesh Kumar was on the bottom of the list with a victory margin of 93,219 in South Delhi. He polled 49.5 per cent of the total of over 7.27 lakh votes. Chandni Chowk, which witnessed a contest between Congress heavyweight Sibal and BJP greenhorn Vijender Gupta, once again blessed the former by helping him win the seat with a margin of over two lakh votes. Sibal also managed to win the trust of around 60 per cent voters.

Delhi Congress chief Jai Prakash Agarwal bagged nearly 58 per cent of the total 8.78 lakh votes cast in North-East seat, where the BJP had pitted Sangh Parivar veteran BL Sharma ‘Prem.’ In New Delhi seat, Maken got nearly 4.56 lakh votes and defeated his nearest BJP rival former

Union Minister Vijay Goel by over 1.87 lakh polled votes. On the seven seats across the national Capital, BJP polled over 20.26 lakh votes, nearly 12 lakh less than Congress.

It was also a cakewalk for Congress’ Krishna Tirath who defeated her nearest rival Meera Kanwaria of BJP in the Southwest reserved constituency by a margin of 1.84 lakh votes and garnering 58 per cent of the total 8.5 lakh votes polled.