Stepping up the tempo in the run-up to the assembly elections, Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC) president Jai Prakash Agarwal, MP, exhorted the Congress workers to do creative work in their areas to realise the dream of the people to make the Capital a model metropolis and defeat the nefarious designs of opportunists and communalists.

He said the Congress workers, through their dedicated service to people, should ensure that the party retained power in Delhi for the third consecutive time in the coming Assembly elections.

He said this while addressing gatherings during his whirlwind tour of the Karawal Nagar Assembly constituency as part of his people-contact programme last evening

Agarwal was accompanied by East Delhi Member of Parliament Sandeep Dikshit, who also addressed the meetings.

Prominent areas in which Agarwal and Dikshit addressed gatherings were Karawal Nagar Road, Khajuri Khas, Lakpath Adarsh Memorial School, Panchayat Ghar Khajuri Khas, Sherpur village, Sherpur and Biharipur main road, Dayalpur Village, Sadavpur Village, Karawal Nagar village, Pushta Road (Karawal Nagar), Sabhapur Village, Sriram Colony and Rajiv Nagar.

The DPCC president alleged that the BJP was a party with no direction which indulged only in spreading lies and gossips to confuse the people, instead of doing constructive work for the larger good of the people. He claimed that the Congress government in Delhi was doing many praiseworthy works for the overall development and progress of Delhi to make the Capital a world class city.

He said the government had implemented various schemes for the poor, labour, the backward classes, Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, minorities, the underprivileged, people living in JJ clusters and unauthorised colonies. He said development works were being carried out on a fast track mode in unauthorised colonies in a bid to give every possible civic amenity.

Others present at the meetings were block president Begraj Singh, Kalyan Singh, Prof. Jile Singh, Jagdish Pradhan, Ram Singh Rajinder Singh Khari, Virender Singh Negi, Ramesh Chand Gandhi, Ballu Pehlwan, Jagpal Saini, Praveen Kasana, Rajesh Sharma, Satish Pradhan, Ram Singh, Prathap, Jai Prakash, Vikram, Ravi Choudhari, R.P.Goyal, Hem Singh Pradhan and Rajbir Sharma.

Tribune News Service