New Delhi: A high-level Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC) delegation, led by its president Jai Prakash Agarwal, today apprised Lt Governor Tejendra Khanna of the BJP-ruled Municipal Corporation of Delhi’s (MCD’s) decision to charge house tax from the poor people living in unauthorised colonies.

The members also expressed their displeasure at the MCD notice for house tax on unauthorised colonies.

The Lt Governor patiently heard the views of the DPCC delegation, immediately directed the MCD not to send such notices and also told it to withdraw the house tax notice already issued to residents of unauthorised colonies, a press release said.

He felt that the MCD had no right to charge house tax from unauthorised colonies without providing them with basic amenities and directed the MCD Commissioner present at the meeting to immediately withdraw the house tax notice issued to unauthorised colonies.

Besides Agarwal, the delegation comprised MPs Ramesh Kumar, Mahabal Mishra, Leader of the Opposition in the MCD Jai Kishan Sharma, MLAs Surender Pal Singh Bittoo and Veer Singh Dhingan, ex-MLAs Bhisham Sharma and Zile Singh Chouhan, Om Prakash Bhiduri, Suresh Malik, Rajender Malik and Deepak Ghoti, former Mayor Ashok Kumar Jain, Mukesh Goel, Hari Kishan Jindal, Kamal Kant Sharma, Suresh Sharma and Sukhbir Sharma.

-Tribune News Service