New Delhi, May 16
The whole camp of the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC) president, Jai Prakash Agarwal was in raptures quite early during the day itself, giving the impression that it had sensed the nerves of the electorate even before the results. The whole brigade, consisting of about 60-odd supporters came on shifts to charge the atmosphere outside the Industrial Training Institute at Nandnagri in the North-East Delhi (NED) parliamentary segment.

Slogans “Jai Ho” and “Jai Prakash Agarwal ki jai” raised by Agarwal’s supporters reverberated across Nandnagri, where the fate of both Congress and BJP veterans, Agarwal and B L Sharma was being decided. These slogans gradually rolled down the carpets for the DPCC president, who by evening emerged with a thumping victory by a defining lead of over 2.22 lakh votes.

Ebullient Congressmen attributed the win to the charisma of Agarwal, but Agarwal with seasoned humility passed the credit to the Congress’s theme of “development”, the party high command Sonia Gandhi and “refreshingly honest leadership” of AICC general secretary Rahul Gandhi.

Agarwal believes that the voters of NED constituency have rejected the communal leadership and given its reins to the party which they trust. “The result clearly shows that the people of my constituency want development. They know that Congress understands the needs of the masses. The mandate brings out that the people have rejected all communal elements,” outlined the DPCC president.

Surrounded by ecstatic supporters, who danced to the music of drums, Agrawal, the new MP of NED constituency, said that no effort would be spared to better the living conditions of all.

Meanwhile, the by-poll results from the Rohtas Nagar assembly constituency, which had fallen vacant after the sudden demise of DPCC chairman Ram Babu Sharma, also went to the kitty of Congress.

The Congress candidate Vipin Sharma defeated Bharatiya Janata Party’s Divya Jaiswal by a margin of 23,547 votes.

Tribune News Service