Decision to elect the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president has been left to the chairperson of AICC, Smt Sonia Gandhi.

At present, northeast Delhi MP, Jai Prakash Agarwal is heading the state party.

Sources said that there was no other name coming forward for the post of the DPCC president though Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit was not in favour of renominating Agarwal. If he is renominated, Agarwal would be the first person to lead the state party for the second time.

The sources said that at a meeting of the newly elected delegates, state returning officer Mahesh Joshi proposed a resolution in which it was decided to leave the matter to the discretion of All India Congress Committee president Smt. Sonia Gandhi.

This resolution was seconded by DPCC president Jai Prakash Agarwal. All the newly elected DPCC delegates supported the resolution.

The meeting was attended by Central Election Authority chairman, Oscar Fernandes. Prominent among those present in the meeting were Jai Prakash Agarwal, Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, Union minister Krishna Tirath, Delhi MPs Mahabal Mishra and Ramesh Kumar.

Tribune News Service